Skip to content

Automatic archiving of wifi thermometer data with studio software

The Archive feature is a very convenient feature where you can configure the software to automatically download and archive data that has been transmitted by the device and captured by the Studio Software. Auto-archiving is a fantastic time-saving feature, perfect for HACCP compliance and audit checks. You'll never forget to upload your data!

To set up AutoArchive, just look for the button in the top bar of the Home tab. You can see here that the third line down in the new window says “Instruments”, from there you can choose the recording unit you want to add and enable automatic archiving.

We can then set the intervals at which we want the unit to record temperature; however, you cannot adjust the interval during which the device transmits stored data to the Studio software. "Auto Archive" will automatically transmit data and archive it accordingly every 4 hours to maximize each device's battery life.

Although the recommended transmission rate may seem too long for some people, if at any time the logging interval records a temperature outside the current high or low alarm limits, the instrument will automatically send a new transmission containing all the latest data, allowing you to be notified as soon as possible. If you want data to be transmitted more frequently, you need to turn off automatic archiving and change the settings accordingly in the instrument settings, this however means that you will have to manually save and archive your data.

In AutoArchive you now also have the option to create groups. This addition to automatic archiving allows you to group multiple loggers together when data is archived. For example; Fridge and freezer loggers can be one group and in this group they will archive data by year and then by month. To create a group, select the Group tab in the Auto-Archive window and enter the name of the groups you are creating one by one.

Once a group has been created, simply navigate to the 'Instruments' tab and click on the ones you wish to add as follows:

The last page of the AutoArchive section is arguably the most important:

First, you choose the location (file path or "directory") for all automatically archived data to be saved. It can be anywhere on a local PC or on a shared drive. To change this directory, simply click on the icon […].


Then you can choose from various customizable methods to sort all your data. There are 3 options, and each will create a folder within each other for you to easily manage all your archived data automatically.


Below is a great example of a simple way to sort, but that's entirely up to the user.

The last box out of 3 always corresponds to the backup of the data file. Thus, in this case, each saved file will contain the equivalent of one month's worth of data.If the last selection was "week", the saved file would contain only one week of data, and so on...


Also, if you don't choose to sort by instrument at any time, multiple instruments will be saved in the same file. This can be useful if you've grouped your loggers.


If you click preview it will provide an example of how the chosen options are presented.

For each file saved in the automatic archive, you will also get an automatically saved PDF report. This shows all alarms that have been triggered during the time period of this file. Each time each logger transmits data to the Studio Software, these files will be updated, so they may not populate as soon as you complete the setup or when you turn on the software for the first time.

Tip: If you accidentally close Studio Software, or your PC performs an automatic update overnight, the next time the software is powered on, each recorder successfully transmits the data, the automatic archive will collect all unsaved data that is in the internal memory of each of the loggers. and update all your saved files.

.